Cricket network logo
adelaide strikers logo Team Logo west end redbacks logo


Board of Management Election


Nominations Are Open

In accordance with SACA’s Constitution, nominations for positions on the SACA Board of Management are now open, each for a term commencing on the date of the Annual General Meeting of SACA to be held on 25 September 2017.

Three vacancies will be created by the retirement of Rod Phillips, Dean Marsh and Andrew Sinclair. In accordance with SACA’s Constitution, all three individuals are eligible for re-election.

Nominations must be in writing on nomination forms available on request from SACA by phone (8300 3816) or by e-mail (

In accordance with SACA’s Constitution:

  • each candidate must be a Full Member or a Country Member of SACA; and
  • each nomination form must be signed by two SACA Members who are entitled to vote* and be accompanied by the candidate’s signed consent to the nomination. 

Should more than the required number of candidates be nominated to fill the vacancies, an election by ballot will be conducted in accordance with SACA’s Constitution.

Nominations must be returned to the Returning Officer by hand, post or email by 4pm (ACST) on Friday 18 August 2017.


Ken Dyer, Returning Officer, SACA Board of Management Elections

Deliver to: C/- SACA, Level 2 Riverbank Stand, Adelaide Oval

Post to: C/- SACA, PO Box 545, North Adelaide SA 5006



* The following categories of SACA Members are entitled to vote:  Full Member, Country Member, Honorary Life Member, Life Member, Tenured Member, Honorary-Services Rendered Member and a member of a Committee of Management of SACA.


Returning Officer and New Board of Management Election By-laws

The SACA Board is committed to ensuring that the election of positions on the SACA Board of Management is administered in accordance with the rules of SACA’s Constitution and in an open, fair, transparent and accountable manner.  

Having regard to the above objectives, the SACA Board has:

  • appointed Mr Ken Dyer of Corpvote as Returning Officer in relation to the 2017 Board of Management election; and
  • adopted new by-laws in relation to the Board of Management elections.


Public Officer

The Returning Officer is appointed by the Board under rule 33.1 of the SACA Constitution. The Returning Officer has a number of explicit roles prescribed under the Constitution. These roles include calling for nominations, certifying the number of votes received by each candidate and having the final decision as to the validity of votes, the rights of members to vote, which votes shall be counted and the general conduct of the ballot and scrutiny.

Corpvote is an independent company with expertise in the management and delivery of ballots and elections.  Corpvote assists with the elections for a number of high profile entities, including Adelaide Football Club Ltd, Port Adelaide Football Club Ltd, Beyond Bank Ltd, the Melbourne Cricket Club Ltd and the Royal Automobile Club of Victoria (RACV).

SACA considers that the appointment of an independent third party as Returning Officer further preserves the impartiality and integrity of the election process and is in accordance with accepted best practice. 

Board of Management Election By-laws

To ensure that the procedures for the management of elections are open, fair and transparent, the Board has, in accordance with the Constitution, adopted Board of Management Election by-laws, a copy of which is available here.

The new by-laws were prepared by SACA’s external lawyers Finlaysons, with input from Corpvote as to commonly accepted corporate governance practice.

The new by-laws confirm SACA procedures regarding a number of election related matters, including that:

  • the order of the names of the Candidates on the Ballot Paper must be listed by alphabetical order
  • the names of any Candidates who are retiring members of the Board of Management, and who are seeking re-election, must be distinguished on the Ballot Paper by an asterisk, or similar device, following their name;
  • at the absolute discretion of the Chief Executive, any Candidate Statement may be accompanied by a photo of the Candidate; and
  • Candidate Statements must not include any links or references to a Candidate’s social media accounts or any other social media or websites.

The decision to not allow Candidate Statements to include links or references to social media or other websites has been made to enable SACA to protect against false or misleading statements being improperly made by candidates during the election process.

In approving the new by-laws, the SACA Board determined to maintain the practice of using an asterisk to denote sitting members on Ballot Papers, having regard to the following matters:

  • Corpvote’s advice that this is a commonly accepted corporate governance practice in Australia, which the vast majority of clients of Corpvote use; and
  • the practice represents a statement of objective fact, rather than improperly making any subjective assessment of whether a person is a preferable candidate; and
  • SACA has consistently used this process for many years.